1. Home
  2. >>
  3. store
  4. >>
  5. Google removes the Permissions list from the Play Store

Google removes the Permissions list from the Play Store



Google removes the Permissions list from the Play Store


Security for users who install applications and games from Play Store it is extremely important for Google: the company has in fact recently introduced the section Data securitywhich lists how personal data is used by the developer and other information related to privacy.

However, Google has decided to remove the Permissions section from the store: this listed, as the name also indicates, all of them the permissions that the app in question needs to work at its best, also explaining which data the application would have had access to granting certain permissions. Now it will therefore be necessary to install the app to understand which permissions are required by the software to function properly.

The reason for this choice is not clear: knowing what permissions an app needs to work before installing it it’s certainly handy, especially for privacy-conscious users. In all probability, Google will integrate this information into the Data Security sectionalthough there are no confirmations on the matter.

This small but important change is in rollout these days and seems to have already arrived in Italy: as you can see from the screenshot below relating to the information of the YouTube Kids app, the wording Permits is not presentbut only the one relating to the Data Security section.

The latest news from the Play Store

The Play Store has recently undergone some interesting changes: in addition to the arrival of the Data Security section, which we briefly talked about previously, there have also been some changes to the design of the app, now increasingly similar to the Material You graphic style introduced by BigG with Android 12 (essentially, buttons now have rounded edges).

As for the section Data securitywe recommend reading this articlewhich better describes all the details of this useful feature – in short, the Data Security screen will show up how developers handle users’ personal data (for example, if these are shared with third party companies or if they are used to generate targeted advertisements).